Progress Report

So here I am, post gym and some unbecoming ass sweat to bring you a progress on my diet and exercise regime.

Well, I think I mentioned this in a previous post; my legs are slowly dying and preparing to remove themselves from my body. Even though I’m in pain and cringe when I have to sit down or bend over…it’s a good pain. The gym is nice, and I always feel more awake after leaving the gym.

I love cardio; but I don’t want to be the girl who goes to the gym and just does cardio, I know there’s so much more to the gym that can be just as effective or more effective than doing an elliptical of some sort.

But I’ve come to love the weight circuit; but it’s taught me that I have basically no upper body strength what so ever. So that’s why I couldn’t do pull ups in high school? So I’ve been focusing on doing more and more weight if I can every time I do the circuit.

I do 3 sets of 10 at varying weights on each machine. Sometimes I start at 10lbs because like I said I have absolutely no upper body strength. Then depending on the machine, I’ll up to 30 or 50lbs.

When it comes to cardio, I’ve been trying to take it easy. About a week or two prior to me beginning my workout and diet regime, I was getting severe numbness and pain on my left side, when I walked it would radiate pain all the way down my left leg to the point where I was limping. I’m not sure if it was a pinched nerve or I slept funny; I just know it was extremely painful. So when I first started going to the gym, I didn’t do much cardio or any circuit machine that required anything with my legs. Now that that pain has finally dissipated, I’m back to doing cardio and leg machines at the gym and my legs are in serious pain; but the good kind of pain!

One other thing I have been working on that I swear by is Yoga! I mean who doesn’t love yoga? My mother took classes last year to become an instructor and she taught me everything she learned. I can say that nothing makes me sweat like yoga. And I love doing it sometimes slowly post workout to help me stretch out my body.

My mother has very bad back problems that she’s fighting through right now; irreversible damage that she’s currently treating with pain medication. But she swears by yoga! She’s going crazy cause she knows it will only help her back issues; but she has to wait till she has her injections done and then when she’s feeling more limber to ease back into yoga. She knows that exercise and a healthy diet will only aide her in recovery. She may be unable to reverse any of the damage that has happened, but she can prevent it from getting any worse by losing any extra weight straining her back and eating better.

The reason we are doing this is because I have a wedding dress to fit into, it’s strapless and I do not want to walk down the aisle with flabby arms and boobs. That just wouldn’t be cool. 🙂 Every bride wants to feel like the most beautiful person in the room on her wedding day! That’s all I want.

The dress I have picked out for the bridesmaids has straps, but it’s a sweetheart neckline, my maid of honor was telling me, “Sarah, okay if I’m expected to wear that, I’m eating nothing but celery and…nope, just celery and water!” As the bride, I couldn’t agree with my maid of honor more. That’s why I chose her!

I do have to be honest, I haven’t been perfect on this diet. I have my bad days, I’m a stress eater; and I have learned how to curb my cravings. I LOVE chocolate, it’s the hardest habit for me to kick especially during stressful moments. You have to find out your cravings and what triggers the cravings and deal with it quickly.

I am not a nutritionist, what works for me doesn’t work for everyone. So please if you do begin dieting that you research everything and do what works best for YOU!

Xoxo,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

